My Personal Yoga Challenge: Day One

Triangle

Triangle

After abusing my body for 32 years, I have come to the realization that something needs to change.  I have played sports my whole life, and played sports HARD!  I topped my career as a college basketball player, and before spent my life playing 3 sports.  My body has been banged, sprained, bruised, broken, screened, slide tackled…you get the point. I would practice/play hard for 2 hours without any stretching or recovery.  Needless to say, I am now a hot mess.  In the words of my massage therapist, “my heart breaks for you” and “you are top 3 tightest people I have massaged in my career”.  I usually love top 3 finishes, but not in this category!

Up until the last few months I have stayed strong with my mentality of going hard ALL THE TIME, and just accepting the fact that my body hurts ALL THE TIME and that is the price you pay for being an athlete.  Then I met the Yoga Instructor at mission FITNESS, Loren.  I took a few classes and realized two things: 1) A one hour Yoga class is the hardest & most humbling thing I have ever done 2) It’s time for me to switch gears and adopt not only Yoga into my life, but the YOGA MENTALITY.

So here I am….in Venice, Florida trying as hard as I can to change everything I have thought and done for 32 years.  I am NOT competing against the person next to me.  I am NOT pushing past uncomfortable.  I am one of the WORST people in the Yoga room, and that’s OK!  Breath differently.  Think differently.  This is one of the hardest things I have ever had to do….and THAT’s why I am excited for this challenge.

So….here I am, exposing myself to anyone who is interested.  I may be able to run a faster 5K or Marathon than you.  I may be better than you in basketball, softball, soccer, golf, bootcamp challenges, etc…but chances are, you can do a better Downward Dog, Warrior 1, 2, 3, Reverse Warrior, Forward Bend, Camel, Triangle, Extended Angle Shoulder Stand and any other pose I will embarrass myself with below!!

DAY ONE:

Leave a Reply

