I Have Found My Calling

mf1I don’t know if it was the high energy class I taught today, or the centering I felt during my Yoga session this evening, but I had a sort of epiphany today: I have found my calling.

For those who don’t know my story, let me give you a quick summary of how I got to where I am today. I have been an athlete my whole life, and I will say that in my life span it is probably one of the most prominent words I would use to define myself. Partly because the world of sports was a world I spent most of my life engulfed in, and partly because I think the word “athlete” goes so deep, and to this day it defines who I am. That being said, since sports and athletics is all I knew, come crunch time to choose a major in College I decided on Physical Education and Health.

After pursuing a teaching career out of college, I quickly realized it was not for me. For someone who HATES routine, and tends to get easily mt washannoyed by kids, a ringing bell every 45 minutes for 30 years & misbehaved kids did not seem like MY path to happiness. So, I spent my early twenties trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life. I did some time waitressing, interning at ESPN, processing and selling loans, and banking. As I slowly moved up the “corporate ladder” in the banking world, I sat at my corner desk in my corporate attire, wearing my corporate smile….but, I wasn’t fooling anyone, especially myself. My mind was not on opening new accounts, it was on the mountain I summited that weekend or the 5K I had run, feeling THAT energy that no corporate ANYTHING would come close to.

So, it seemed only right to follow my heart, leave a good paying job with good benefits, and follow my passion. My brother and I started a business and my new life began. We created a fitness business starting with outdoor bootcamps in a local park, and within a year grew tremendously. Now, in less than 5 years the business has gone from 6 friends taking bootcamp at a local park to hundreds of consistent clients attending classes in a 5800 square foot facility.

While I am no longer owner, I still teach classes and train at mission FITNESS and I LOVE it. I feel I am taking what I have learned with my degree in teaching and fitness, and applying it to a group of people who WANT to be there. I feel an energy that takes over me when I start teaching a bootcamp class and I just get in the ZONE! I feel like I am in my element, doing what my heart has always known is right. I have so many amazing clients who throw compliments at me, and today was one of those days that I thought, “I AM good at what I do” Those who know me, know these days don’tcome-alive happen often. However, we set a record of 973 calories burned at bootcamp this morning, and I’m feeling pretty damn good!

What do I love most about my job? I LOVE seeing people CHANGE. That moment when you see the change taking place. Sometimes so powerful that tears are shed. Yes, it happens…and NO, I am not Jillian Michaels. I just see things in people that they don’t see in themselves, and I LOVE the challenge of trying to uncover that. When it happens, it makes this job worth everything it took to get here. I try to not just make someone physically stronger, but to make people emotionally stronger. I try to teach them a type of strength and confidence that they can carry over into their everyday life as parents, spouses, employers, etc. It is so much more than being a fitness instructor. And if it wasn’t, then I wouldn’t be doing my job!

3 thoughts on “I Have Found My Calling

  1. This is BEAUTIFUL!! We share similar mantras, in that doing what you love is much more satisfying than doing what you “should do” or what makes the most $$$… You can tell how passionate you are about your work and passion means everything! And YOU ARE MAKING A HUGE DIFFERENCE IN PEOPLE’S LIVES. YOU ARE AMAZING AT WHAT YOU DO. Remind yourself of that every day 🙂

    • Thanks so much Rachel. Means a lot from someone like you who GETS IT! The quote “if you love what you do you will never work a day in your life” is so true. It is easy to be good at what you do when you love it 🙂 you obviously know that, as I am learning from you in this social media/blogging world!! Keep inspiring

Leave a Reply

