One of Those Days

hurd parkOne of my favorite places to visit in the area is Hurd State Park. It sits adjacent to the Connecticut River, consisting of over 1000 acres.  It’s one of my top places for trail running, with one side of the street offering miles and miles of single track, non-technical, flat running, and the other side a little more technical, hilly  shorter trails.  It also has my favorite, “Split Rock”, a long rock ledge, offering the beautiful CT River as its backdrop.  This is where I go a few times a week in the warm months to clear my mind, “meditate” if you will!  I guess you can say it is my happy place.

Between the endless miles of single tracks and “Split Rock” lies a Pavilion with picnic tables and IMG_20121101_1127554 fire places.  Many times I run by it in the summer, seeing small parties using the fireplace and immediate get jealous.  Like many people, fires are mesmerizing to me.  For someone who is self diagnosed with ADD, I can sit there for hours and just stare at the fire.  Looking back, some of my clearest thoughts and conversations have happened over a fire.  HOWEVER, living in a condo, we are unable to have outdoor fires (big sigh).  So, I always tell my husband we should go there and use that fire place.  I wanted to do it so badly I placed it on my 2013 Bucket List!

IMG_20121101_095022So, this morning we sat at home thinking what we could do on our day off.  We thought about a winery, but figured drinking wine & having to drive home an hour wasn’t the best idea.  So, with the temperatures creeping toward the 40’s (balmy, right?!?) we thought it was a great day to go for a hike and start a fire!  It turned out to be a great idea.  I was able to do one of my favorite things, gather fire wood (I’m serious) and sit by a fire for a few hours with my two favorite boys!  This will be one of those days that I will look back on as winter approaches next year and think, “winter doesn’t always have to be that bad.”

I LOVE CHECKING THINGS OFF MY 2013 BUCKET LIST!!

Leave a Reply

