Why I do That Extra Rep

i canAs many of you know, I am a bootcamp instructor and personal trainer. At my classes the fitness levels vary: there are 15 year olds next to 65 year olds.  IRONMANers next to Couch to 5kers.  You get the point.  There are others ways to see differences, however. There’s the ones who push past uncomfortable next to the people who just breeze through class comfortably. The ones who finish an exercise with shaking muscles, heart pumping, hands on knees, nearly ready to puke next to the ones who are holding a comfortable conversation.  The ones who do that last rep with one second left, and those who end with 3 seconds left.  I must say I have an equal respect for both of these categories. I DO understand that we are all there for our own reasons, and I applaud EVERY bootcamper that walks through the door.

My clients may not know I see these things (although many have said they think I have eyes in the back of my head)  but I do!  I found a quote last night that read, “don’t be upset with the results you didn’t get with the work you didnt do”  I love this quote for so many reasons. It relates to SO MANY PEOPLE I know, especially in the fitness world.  So often I hear excuses from people of why they aren’t succeeding to meet their goals, but may not understand what it really takes to get there.  Let me give some examples.

We are so fortunate at mission FITNESS to have instructors that walk the walk.  They are billboards for fitness and hard work.  My brother, the owner, is not naturally fast.  He is not naturally strong and bulky.  He is 5’7, 155 pounds.  However, he is not only finishing 5Ks in the top 5 overall (18:30ish finishes) but also just qualified for Boston Marathon, doing Vermont City Marathon at 3:05.  Just a couple of years ago he was setting WORLD RECORDS for bench pressing, putting up 360 pounds!  None of this came easy.  It came because he did the work.  He did that last rep with one second left.

Then there’s the trainer who is in her 40’s with 4 kids.  She is in ridiculous shape and just finished a recent 5K 4th placecomfortable female overall.  I hear so many other Mom’s say they don’t have enough time.  However, those same Mom’s are at my class for the same hour this trainer is.  Guess which one stops with 3 seconds left and which one does that last rep?  Guess which one walks out of class dripping in sweat with NOTHING left to give while the other walks out feeling great and looking good?

Another trainer is the one I specifically saw and made me think of this blog  After my class the other day I had to go up to her and tell her why I love her.  Why she inspires me.  She ALWAYS does that extra rep.  She NEVER stops if she thinks she won’t get that last burpee in.  She just goes 33 seconds instead of 30 if that’s the case.  She is so physically fit, and this is not because it is easy.  It is because she stays after the class she teaches to do a workout ALONE and STILL finishes the exercise with her hands on her knees breathing hard when NO ONE is watching.  This is what separates one athlete from the next.  This is what brings people to the next level.  This is what inspires me when I want to stop with 2 seconds left.  This is why I DO THE LAST REP!

easyPLEASE, don’t get me wrong…I am 100% ok with someone coming to my class to just get 1 hour of exercise in and staying comfortable during class.  This is better than NOT working out.  I award you for being there.  I love that you are there.  This is about those who complain that they aren’t losing weight, they aren’t losing any time off their 5k, 1/2 marathon, marathon, etc time.  However, they are stopping with 3 seconds left.  These are the ones I think of when I hear “don’t be upset with the results you didn’t get with the work you didn’t do”  Getting to the next level in the fitness world takes a lot of work, dedication and discipline.  I am very fortunate to work with trainers who make me want to be better, stronger, and work harder.  I am also lucky to train MANY people who do the same.  Many of my bootcampers have no idea how much the INSPIRE ME.  Thank you.. 

Leave a Reply

