Monday At-Home Workout

imageI’m not like most people. I LOVE Mondays. Yup, me and Pajama Mondays live for our Mondays!!  My husband and I try to take it off together  so we can hang. Sometimes it’s at Mohegan Sun for a day of Poker, sometimes coffee and a hike with the pup…..and sometimes it’s a day like today. Perfection.

It actually started with us miserable. We woke up after 24 hours of wind hitting our condo at 30 mph gusts, and temps in the teens. This equated to 48 degrees INSIDE our condo. I’m not being dramatic. Long story as to why it’s so cold in our house, but all you need to know is it was cold, which equaled misery for us.

But, things got better.  After waking up we started up the fire, made coffee, watched Homeland. What. A. Show. I feel sorry for those who don’t watch it. Next, a trip to the grocery store followed by my husband cooking up a storm, as I sparked up the Christmas Music and began decorating the Christmas Tree. Butternut Squash Soup, Veggie Pizza, Roasted Veggies, Quinoa Salad, Homemade Oat Bread, etc. You can only imagine the aromas that filled the house as I sang along with Bing Crosby and decked the halls. Is this real life? Yes, yes it is.

But, here’s the thing: I was obviously sampling everything the hubs was cooking, and I had taken the day off from working out yesterday. It was like 3 degrees outside and I was feeling like I was coming down with something, so I laid on my couch all day. Now, for some, back to back lazy days is OK. For me, it not only makes me feel guilty, but lazy and…just. not. good.  I need exercise.  Especially in this weather that makes me depressed. I need the endorphins. (Read my post on my SAD condition)

So, with the weather outside frightful, and the fire so delightful….I (reluctantly) marched to the basement (which was probably 45 degrees) set up my bike trainer and a small area for my body weight exercises, and did this circuit…

5 ROUNDS

5 minutes on the Bike Trainer

20 Push Ups

20 Squat Jumps

20 High Pulls (25lb KB)

20 Burpees

20 Plank to Push Ups

Plank to Fatigue

As always, once I was finished I was happy to be done. I showered, and got right back into my sweats to finish decorating the tree and listening to my Christmas Music. I love Mondays!

image

Leave a Reply

