Surviving the Treadmill

Like many of my past posts have stated, it’s been a tough winter for this girl. For someone who LOVES the outdoors, feeds off the outdoors, thrives in the woods, but HATES the cold…like beyond hates …more than anything HATES…it has even a tough one. With temps regularly going below zero lately, I have found myself on the treadmill more than I would like. So,here’s what I have been doing to make time pass quicker.

My Treadmill Workout

1 mile warmup

1 mile Half Marathon Pace

Go up .2 every mile until you hit 6 miles

Go back up to HM pace

Go up .1 every 30 seconds until you can’t go any harder (possibly 5k pace)

Go back to HM

start again, raising .1 every 30 seconds

image

I have done this 3 times now, once for 10 miles and twice for 8 miles.  All 3 times I ended up with a 7:24 average pace. I can’t say it was easy and there weren’t times I wanted to quit, but when I was done I was happy. This was a great pace for where I am at with my running fitness, especially on the treadmill.

My Numbers

Warm Up at 7.3 = 8:13 pace

Half Marathon Pace at 8.0 = 7:30

Fastest Pace at 9.1 = 6:36

8 miles

Average Pace = 7:24

Leave a Reply

