Exploring The Golden Isles of Georgia

We officially departed the sunshine state and it did not go unnoticed by us.  Southern Georgia blessed us with record lows, with the temperature barely making it’s way out of the 30’s during our first 2 nights.  BUT, that did not stop us from exploring like we always do!

We stayed at Blythe Island Regional Park in Brunswick, Ga, just a short distance from St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island. The park got great reviews online and we could see why. It was a beautiful park, surrounded by marshes and a huge fishing pier.

image

We visited St. Simons Island our first day which was voted America’s #1 Favorite Romantic Town as well as America’s #1 Favorite Beach Town by Travel + Leisure Magazine.  Even with the freezing temps we could easily see what all the hype was about in this town.

Does this picture not scream BEACH TOWN!?!?

Does this picture not scream BEACH TOWN!?!?

image

image

I was so excited to find the banner that I have had saved in my Shopping Cart at Natural Life at a cute little shop in St Simons. It was half the cost plus I always love purchasing from a store so that it comes with the memory of the day. I wasn’t sure where we would put it in the camper, and it actually didn’t look too good in the spot I had in mind. BUT, it worked perfectly to fit the spot above the bed I was trying to fill. YAY!

image

The next day we went to explore Jekyll Island. This day was crazy. First, the negative….. IT WAS FREEZING!!  This island is perfect for bike riding, as it has the most amazing bike trail that goes around the whole island. I was not willing to give up a bike ride. So….we froze. SO. FREAKING. COLD. That being said, I had an absolutely amazing day. This island was magical for me. I NEED to go back when it is nicer….I may end up living there!

image

image

In the picture above you can see the bike path that winds its way through marshes, live oaks and past the waterways.  Below is the fishing pier where we were able to watch at least four dolphin swim and play until our fingers couldn’t stand the cold any longer.  Again, in nicer weather, Erik would have had to drag me off this island.

image

image

image

image

Jekyll Island, I will see you again.

Leave a Reply

