“How’s Florida?”

You can’t imagine how many times I’ve been asked, “how’s Florida?”  Every time this question pops up on my phone I stare at it and think, “how should I answer this?”  90% of the time I give a simple response, “It’s beautiful!”  “Gorgeous”. These are not lies. Florida is insanely beautiful. Not only is the weather warm and SUNNY every day, but there is SO MUCH TO DO in the nice weather. Every weekend there’s a different festival, fair, show, parade, etc. Not to mention the breathtaking beaches that are always just a bike ride away. Erik and I find ourselves almost daily asking out loud, “can you believe this is our hometown?”  It is everything I have always wanted. To NEVER BE COLD. That was literally my goal in life. Winters in Connecticut made me miserable. I was constantly cold, which meant I was always miserable. I honestly can’t think of too many things I hate more than being cold.

image

So, here I am in paradise. LIVING where people VACATION!!  So, why am I staring at these texts unsure of how to answer them?  Here’s why…..because I am in FLORIDA and mission FITNESS is in CONNECTICUT. And THAT simple fact makes me feel incomplete. Like I left a part of my soul behind. Like there is a big void missing that cannot be replaced. Those of you reading this who are not MFers are probably thinking, “just find a gym there. I’m sure Venice, Fl has gyms.”  And if you are thinking that you clearly have never been to mission FITNESS!

image

Let me explain. Yes, MF separates itself easily by the quality of the workouts and the trainers. But what really separates MF from the rest is the attitude there. The culture. The energy. While I am sure I may be able to find a place here (or anywhere) that gives me a good workout, it could never match the workout or overall FEELING I get at MF. That’s because in the last 7 years MF has attracted and maintained clients that feed off each other and will never settle for any workout less than their best. The way we are truly a FAMILY of people who have decided that average isn’t what we are striving for. A group of people who have realized this isn’t just a workout facility. This is a place that we go to when we need that extra motivation to sign up for that next race. Or take that big step in your life. mission FITNESS (watch this video) is a fitness facility that you enter to maybe lose weight or gain strength, but leave wanting to be a better person. There is a reason why every person who has ever left to maybe chase the next Groupon sale ALWAYS comes back.  It’s because while other gyms may have the same kettlebells or TRX bands as us, they could never match the energy.

image

MF has separated itself from the rest and that’s because it starts, and has always started, from the top. Matt, the owner (and my brother) has always lead by example. From 5ks to Marathons to IRONMANS he has showed everyone that through hard work and dedication anything is possible. He has showed us that what we do in the fitness area of your life is what we carry over to the rest of our life. This combination has been the reason why MF is not only the fastest growing fitness facility in the area, but in my opinion the best facility….dare I say…anywhere!?!

image

When I think of how my heart hurts for my separation from MF I think of the quote, “it’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all”. While I know MF will NEVER be lost from my life (both mentally and physically) being away from it has made me realize some things. First, I need to be a trainer and work with people like MFers like I need air, water and food. Second, I will NEVER settle for anything less than MF. Which means it’s time for me to start seeing what these Venice people are made of and see if I can get that MF energy going down here!!

6 thoughts on ““How’s Florida?”

  1. It sounds exactly like something I need. To surround myself with people who are excited about being and feeling our best. I truly believe that we are affected by who we hang with. energy, excitement and the thrill of reaching goals are contagious things. I’d love to be a part of something like this.

    • Yes Kelly!!!! if everyone surrounded themselves with people and places like mission FITNESS it would be a better, more productive,healthier, happier world. But, unfortunately, all we can control is our own lives and it is up to US to surround ourselves with this positive energy. It sounds like you have figured that out 🙂 Bing away from this place has affected me harder than I ever thought it would. It is truly a special place.

  2. My daughter and I worked out at MF! Great place — we miss it and everyone there. We moved to FL 8/1/15 and live in Orlando now. We’ve met you, I’m sure!

    Love reading your blogs and can relate to all you wrote — the move, what we love/miss, hate cold, injuries, yoga…

    Which leads me to…besides missing MF, we also miss our friends at Glastonbury Bikram Yoga that was around corner. There was an instructor there at Bikram that opened a studio in Venice, FL a couple years ago. We hope to visit soon.

    So, we are sharing — you are near a fellow Glastonbury CT friend named Linda there in Venice!. Bikram helped us both and we know a trainer from MF who also believes in it. Have you tried it?

    Here’s link:
    http://gulfcoastyogavenice.com/

    Please blog if you go. All the best to you 😎 Thanks for sharing your inspiring journey!

    Robin & AJ

  3. My daughter and I worked out at MF! Great place — we miss it and everyone there. We moved to FL 8/1/15 and live in Orlando now. We’ve met you, I’m sure!

    Love reading your blogs and can relate to all you wrote — the move, what we love/miss, hate cold, injuries, yoga…

    Which leads me to…besides missing MF, we also miss our friends at Glastonbury Bikram Yoga that was around corner. There was an instructor there at Bikram that opened a studio in Venice, FL a couple years ago. We hope to visit soon.

    So, we are sharing — you are near a fellow Glastonbury CT friend named Linda there in Venice!. Bikram helped us both and we know a trainer from MF who also believes in it. Have you tried it?

    Here’s link:
    http://gulfcoastyogavenice.com/

    Please blog if you go. All the best to you 😎 Thanks for sharing your inspiring journey!

    • That is WAY TOO FUNNY! I seriously have been saying for the last 2 weeks to my husband that I am going to go check that out. It is about 2 miles from where I live!! They are doing a 30 day for $30. Now I HAVE to check it out. Thank you so much. We love Florida…always have…but MF
      was a very special place. Maybe I can talk to Linda about a referral program whenow I get my fitness going down here!! Thanks again!!

      • Glad to have given you that lit’l push haha.

        I was born/raised in FL so had to return and show my daughter all there is to offer here. I totally understand your love.

        You will never forget your 1st Bikram class. Ours was with Linda, in fact. We will look for your updates 🙂

        Namaste’

        Robin & AJ

Leave a Reply

